Of all the biographies I’ve read, this one may have inspired me more than any other.

Hudson Taylor led the largest missionary effort outside of Scripture. He was abandoned to serving his Lord. He was completely sold out. This book, written by his children, inspired me because I want to live the way he did. I want to trust God for provision instead of trusting in my own efforts. I want to learn the discipline of prayer and Bible reading that Hudson Taylor had.

His commitment to reading Scripture daily, reading through his Bible year after year, and constant prayer, are examples I aspire to in 2009.

His spiritual secret is nothing more than faithfulness in the spiritual disciplines and reliance on Christ to live in and through him. Finally understanding unity with Christ was the key that unlocked spiritual peace for Hudson Taylor. After he learned this lesson of oneness with Christ, he wrote in letters to his children and friends.

I used to try to keep my own heart right, but it would always be going wrong. So at last I had to give up trying myself, and to accept the Lord’s offer to keep it for me. ¹

and

Compared with this union with Christ, heaven or earth are unimportant accidents.

Oh, it is joy to feel Jesus living in you: to find your heart all taken up by him; to be reminded of his love by his seeking communion with you at all times, not by your painful attempts to abide in him. ²

This book isn’t a how-to manual for spiritual disciplines, prayer, or union with Christ. It is simply the story of one man’s life, lived for Christ in faithfulness, and joy.

If you need inspiration in your own life, I encourage you to read Hudson Taylor’s Spiritual Secret.

 

  1. Hudson Taylor’s Spiritual Secret (Hendrickson Publishers, 2008) p. 150
  2. Ibid. p. 151
